My accident (it's pretty long)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

My accident (it's pretty long)

Post  Joe on Sun Apr 22, 2012 5:30 pm

I have been going over this in my mind many times since the accident, so I decided to give you all the “what had happened was” as I remember it. The only thing I ask is that this does not get reposted on other sites for now. I'll share it as I feel I should. Thanks.
So, here goes….
A little about me, I have been riding since 2006 (Yeah, I know, late start) and I have been an MSF Rider Coach since 2010. My first bike was a 2005 Honda VTX 1300. After putting over 44,000 miles on the Honda I sold it and purchased a 2011 Suzuki DL650 V-Strom in October of 2011. I had about 3,200 miles on it the day I left.
It was a beautiful spring afternoon and I was headed down to Ridgecrest (China Lake), CA for an event the following day. I was not in a hurry, had a full night’s sleep, was not stressed out, and was in the right frame of mind for a three hour ride. I performed a full T-CLOCK inspection on my bike before I left (All inspection items were well within limits). I am typically an “All the gear, all the time” rider and this was no exception. I was wearing 5/11 tactical pants, a Joe Rocket Atomic 4.0 jacket, Frank Thomas gloves, Alpine Stars motorcycle boots, and a Shoei RF1100 full face helmet (DOT/ SNELL). I was carrying one small overnight bag in my trunk and some miscellaneous gear in my side cases (About 17 lbs total).